Wednesday, May 2, 2012


IPL means

Indian Premier League 

it is a professional league for Twenty20 cricket championship in India. It was initiated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), headquartered in Mumbai, and is supervised by BCCI Vice President who serves as the league's Chairman and Commissioner. It is currently contested by nine teams, consisting of players from around the world. It was started after an altercation between the BCCI and the Indian Cricket League

There are atleast play 4 season as below:

First season:

The inaugural season of the tournament started on 18 April 2008 and lasted for 46 days with 59 matches scheduled, out of which 58 took place and 1 was washed out due to rain

Second season:

he 2009 season coincided with the General Elections in India. Owing to concerns regarding players' security, the venue was shifted to South Africa. The format of the tournament remained same as the inaugural one.

Third season:

The third [season] opened in January 2010 with the auction for players. 66 players were on offer but only 11 players were sold. In this season, Hyderabad Deccan Chargers did not play at their preferred home location of Hyderabad, India due to the ongoing political crisis in the Telangana region .

Fourth season:

On 21 March 2010, it was announced in Chennai that two new teams from Pune and Kochi will be added to the IPL for the fourth season. However, the bid around the Kochi franchisee turned controversial resulting in the resignation of minister, Shashi Tharoor from the Central Government and investigations by various departments of the Government of India into the financial dealings of IPL and the other existing franchisees. Later, Lalit Modi was also removed from IPL chairmanship by BCCI. On 5 December 2010, it was confirmed that Kochi will take part in the fourth season of IPL

Fifth season

The fifth season, this time with 9 teams (after the termination of the Kochi franchise) started on 4 April 2012 in Mumbai, for which the players auction was held on 4 February 2012 in Bangalore. The season saw IPL authority increasing the number of players in each squad to 33 from the previous limit of 30 .The first match between Champions League 20–20 winners Mumbai Indians and the defending champions Chennai Super Kings was won by Mumbai Indians by eight wickets. Man of the match Richard Levi scored a 35 ball 50 with 6 fours and 3 sixes.
The season will comprise of 9 teams, with 76 matches played.cochi is not played.

No comments:

Post a Comment